DocumentArtist by Bethie Helliwell

Artes Mundi 7 – National Museum of Wales

16441561_10158234238930311_1111820569_n

As always I loved the work in this years Artes Mundi Exhibition at The National Museum of Wales. I feel so blessed to have this much talent on my doorstep. The work of Lamia Joreige and Amy Franceschini really inspired me. My favourite piece in this exhibition was ‘Counting Contest’ by Neïl Beloufa an ongoing piece of work, which I would love to part take in. It reminds me of the maths I have to do as part of my job and how many times I have to repetitively do the sums to make sure I am correct.

Bedwyr Williams piece was incapacitating, sadly the bean bags were occupied today on a rather busy Sunday in the galleries, but I know where I want to spend my next week day off. The smoothing voiceover whilst looking at the movement of the image of the fictional city inspired by Cadair Idris near Dolgrllau in North Wales, was breath taking. The scale of the buildings reminded me of the building work going on by Cardiff Train Station at the moment.

“The speed in which this kind of mass construction takes place is at once exhilarating and equally terrifying.” – Bedwyr Williams.

I have always been so inspired by Artists Books. I will always enjoy the way in which Artists pour their thoughts and inspirational creativity onto the pages of something I can look through and take home and cherish. My apartment is getting rather full of such books, but I love them all, even the way the spines look huddled together on my shelves.

16426612_10158234236610311_1727339642_n

This entry was published on January 29, 2017 at 6:17 pm. It’s filed under Cardiff, Exhibitions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment